Amaravati Express

hampi  ::  Hampi in a nutshell | Hotels and Lodges in Hampi

Bangalore to Hampi by Train :: Hotels and Lodges in Hampi :: Hampi in a nutshell :: Hospet :: How to reach Hampi ?

Amaravati Express (Train No.18047 / 18048 ) is a cross-country train that connects east India to the west. That is, Goa (Vasco-da-Gama) in the west coast with Howrah Junction in the east.
That train passes though Hospet Junction, the nearest railway station for Hampi. Those coming from the eastern parts of India to Hampi, this is a suitable train. The train covers its 2155 kilometers (1340 miles) journey in 2 days.

Note that Amaravati Express (Train No.18048) starts from Vasco-da-Gama on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays, and passes through Hospet on the same days.
The return train (Train No.18047) from Howrah starts on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, and passes through Hospet on Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.
Amaravati Express (Train No.18047 ) Howrah >> Vasco-Da-Gama
Operates 4 days a week Starts from Howrah on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays This express has 6 general ( unreserved) coaches, usually 3 each located at the ends of the train. You can buy the tickets directly at the station platform counter for the general class. This is the cheapest ticket and typically these unreserved coaches are crowded. There are no sleeping berths for this class.
The bulk of the train is attached with the Second Class sleeper (SL) coaches (about 8 coaches).
Also you may opt for the more comfortable Second Class AC or Third Class AC seats. A standard bedroll is supplied in the AC coaches. Bring and air-pillow and a blanket along if you are opting for the Second Class sleeper coaches. Also add in your baggage a padlock with a tiny chain, so that you can secure your baggage to the hooks provided under your seat, especially if it involves a night journey.

Railways Map of Karnataka
Railways Map of Karnataka

Howrah Jn (HWH) 23:30hrs –>Kharagpur Jn (KGP) –> Balasore (BLS) –> Bhadrakh (BHC) –> Jajpur K Road (JJKR) –> Cuttack (CTC) –> Bhubaneswar (BBS) –> Khurda Road Jn (KUR) –> Brahmapur (BAM)–> Palasa (PSA)–> Srikakulam Road (CHE)–> Vizianagram Jn (VZM)–> Duvvada (DVD)–> Samalkot Jn (SLO)–> Rajamundry (RJY)–> Eluru (EE)–> Vijayawada Jn (BZA)–> Guntur Jn (GNT)–> Narasaraopet (NRT)–> Vinukonda (VKN)–> Donakonda (DKD)–> Markapur Road (MRK)–> Cumbum (CBM)–> Giddalur (GID)–> Nandyal (NDL)–> Dhone (DHNE)–> Maddikera (MKR)–> Guntakal Jn (GTL)–> Bellary Jn (BAY)–> Toranagallu (TNGL)–> Hospet Jn (HPT) for Hampi 06:28hrs –>Gadag Jn (GDG)–> Hubli Jn (UBL)–> Dharwar (DWR)–> Londa Jn (LD)–> Castle Rock (CLR)–> Kulem (QLM)–> Sanverdam Chuch (SVM)–> Madgaon (MAO)–> Vasco Da Gama (VSG) 15:00hrs

You may see the full schedule at the Indian Railway’s site www.indianrail.gov.in using the train number and other details. The Station Codes given against each station name could be a handy detail when you search & book trains online at the railway’s reservation website www.irctc.co.in
Amaravati Express (Train No.2848 ) Vasco-Da-Gama >> Howrah
Operates 4 days a week. Starts from Vasco Da Gama on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Sundays.

Except for the General Class, you need an advance reserved ticket to travel by Amaravati Express. You may do it at one of the Indian Railway’s reservation counters. Or book it directly by yourself online (and print your e-ticket) using the Indian Railway’s website www.irctc.co.in . You can reserve the tickets up to 60 days in advance. Do it as early as you can, as many of the long-distance trains typically get overbooked.

(Please note that this inform could be changed with time and many to be up to date. You can easily check the correct details from on of the official websites of the Indian Railways at www.irctc.co.in or www.indianrail.gov.in )
See aslo the Hampi Express ( Hubli – Hospet – Bangalore ) and Haripriya/ Rayalaseema Express (Vasco-Da-Gama – Hospet – Hyderabad/Tirupati)

hampi  ::  Hampi in a nutshell | Hotels and Lodges in Hampi